The Museum was established in 1935. Since 1968 it has been in its present location in The Keep – a fine example of Victorian military architecture (built 1878), the only surviving building of the Regimental Depot.
Displays tell the regiment’s story from 1685 to amalgamation with the Royal Norfolk Regiment in 1959 through medals, uniforms, photographs, weapons, equipment and personal memorabilia. The regular, militia, volunteer and war-time battalions are covered as well as the experience of individual soldiers.
The Roubaix Drum: left behind at Dunkirk, hidden in a biscuit factory by the local people and handed back after D-Day.
For additional information about admission, opening hours, access, facilities and learning opportunities, please visit the museum website.
Suffolk Regiment Museum
Bury St Edmunds
Tel: 01284 752394