Steeped in history, Moyse’s Hall has looked out over Bury St Edmunds market place for almost 900 years.
The landmark 12th century building’s rich and varied past has included serving as the town gaol, workhouse and police station, first opening as a museum in 1899.
Today the museum offers a fascinating view into the past with collections that document the foundation of the early town – from the creation and dissolution of the Abbey, to prison paraphernalia and artefacts providing intriguing insights into superstition and witchcraft.
Step inside to find St Edmundsbury’s world class collection of horology including rare timepieces bequeathed by musician and clock collector Frederic Gershom Parkington; fine art by renowned local artists Mary Beale and Rose Mead; the Suffolk Regiment gallery; plus changing exhibitions in the Great Hall.
Moyse’s Hall Museum
Bury St Edmunds
T: 01284 706183