Aldeburgh Museum is a local museum, housed in one of the best preserved Tudor public buildings in Britain, the Moot Hall.
Dating from the first half of the 16th Century, the Moot Hall originally contained six small shops on the ground floor and a spacious meeting chamber on the first floor.
When not in use as the Town’s council chamber, this hall offers an attractive display area for the Aldeburgh Museum which displays the history of a vibrant sea-side town. Here you can discover how the town has developed through the years, from the time the Romans came to Barber’s Point until the present day.
The displays contain items of local interest such as photographs and artefacts depicting life in Aldeburgh. The collection also contains Anglo-Saxon finds from 1862 and Snape ship burial excavations in 1992 along with Roman Aldeburgh, the vanished port of Slaughden and the Aldeburgh Witches. Text and images courtesy of aldeburghmuseum.org.uk
For information about admission, opening hours, access and facilities please visit the museum’s website.
The museum houses a significant collection of items from the Anglo-Saxon cemetery at Snape cross roads, excavated during the first recorded investigation of the site in 1862-1863.